Face-to-Face with Pres. Bush

I wish this story were about me, but it’s not. A worship leader that Chels and I have a great deal of honor for is Leonard Jones from Morning Star. Their worship is always a “little out there,” but I think that’s why we love it so much. He got a chance to meet President Bush last week, and the “word” he believed he was supposed to deliver is the exact thing that has rolled through my head on many occasions about what I would say to him if given the chance: “Many Americans are thankful that you chose to do the right thing for us at the expense of your own reputation.”

I don’t agree with everything he’s done, but then again, I don’t have the information that he does. I still have a great deal of respect for the stand he’s taken on many issues despite his numbers in the polls.

Here are his posts from his Myspace Blog about his experience:

Wednesday, October 15, 2008
George Bush

I am meeting George Bush today and would really appreciate your prayers. I started praying for this man two years before he was elected the first time and this is his final public appearance before he leaves office. I have had a simple word for him for months and I plan to give it to him if all goes right. The word is; “Many Americans are thankful that you chose to do the right thing for us at the expense of your own reputation.”
LEO

Thursday, October 16, 2008
George W. Bush “Don’t stop praying”

My friend Eddie Kostenski chartered a private jet to go to Michigan yesterday to meet the president. My body has never moved through the air faster. We had to get to the airport before they shut the airspace down for Air force one. When we finally met the president he walked through shaking hands with Congressmen and their wives, politely greeting each person, but when he came to us, he just stopped and talked for about 7 minutes. I’ll write some more tomorrow about what we said. But basically he used what we talked about repeatedly in his speech. He asked us to not stop praying, he said it’s very effective and he needs and feels all the prayers.
LEO

Friday, October 17, 2008
George Bush “I believe in God”

When we took off from Rock Hill SC to meet the president we literally had an hour to land in Grand Rapids Michigan, we went really fast. After a long wait we were ushered out of the large meeting for a smaller one with just Congressmen and a few others. As the president made his way to us he found out I was a Christian musician and we talked about that for a while, but when I told him I had been praying for him for 10 years, 2 years before he was elected the first time he just parked there and talked about the Lord, AIDS, the war, poverty but mostly the power of prayer. My friends who are quite involved with business in Africa were able to tell him how all of the leaders in Ghana, Nigeria, Kenya, and so many others they are in touch with told them to tell Bush that he is the only president that has fulfilled every promise he made to them. All the others promised much more than him but reneged on everything, (you don’t hear that on the news.) At one point he; talking of the Middle East, jumped back and loudly proclaimed; “I believe in God, and he put me here to help these people because they are precious to him and they have a right to be free. I know people don’t agree with many of the things I did, but it would have been much worse had I sat by and did nothing.” I’ll write again tomorrow of other things he said.
LEO

Saturday, October 18, 2008
Legacy

After our smaller meeting with President Bush we were ushered back into the larger meeting where a line was forming for pictures with him. We were told if we wanted to say anything to him that this was the time and to keep it at around 10 seconds. As I was walking up he grabbed my hand for the picture. After the picture with him as I started to walk away when he asked me; “So where do you play?” I told him about us restoring Heritage USA and a little about our church. Then I gave him the word I had been holding. As I was walking away he grabbed my hand again and said thank you for praying. During his speech he talked almost exclusively about our conversations. Some of the things he said; “Some people think I love war, I hate war. But if a president is worried about his legacy, he won’t do the things that need to be done. Everyone wants to be loved and I am no different. I came in with these sets of principles and I’m leaving with the same principles. I get up in the morning, put my coffee cup on the Queen Victoria table, sit on the Grant couch, and I reach the conclusion that it’s not about me it’s about the office I hold. As I was initiating Romania into NATO I looked up at the balcony where Ceausescu gave his last speech before we was killed and a rainbow dipped down perfectly behind the building and I said to the crowd that God was smiling on Romania today, and inside of me I heard the words, Boy, you use your office for good and to bring freedom. I have done my best to do that, to wipe out AIDS in Africa, to bring stability and freedom many times at the expense of my reputation, which I am not worried about.
LEO

4 thoughts on “Face-to-Face with Pres. Bush

  1. Pingback: My Notes › President Bush’s Legacy

  2. Remember that time I got stuck in my backpack?

    I have no doubt the ultimately Pres. Bush is a good guy deep down. But, what I need you to explain to me is what exactly are the “right things” he did for us. America is in terrible shape, I’m not naive enough to believe that everything is his fault but I’m also not dumb enough to think that a lot of it isn’t his fault. I guess what I need is buddy Matthew to break it down in terms I can understand.

  3. Shannon Roberts

    Amazing! Thanks for sharing this. I know that you and Chel have also been major prayer warriors for our President. We are a blessed country. I believe in the years to come, we will begin to have a greater understanding of just how wise Pres. Bush has been in many areas.

  4. Awesome story. I really do believe if historians are honest, Bush should go down as one of our great Presidents for the issue of fighting terrorism.

    Americans have a short sighted quick fix mindset…in short…we forget why we fight. This president has had to make some of the most difficult decisions in history. Unlike his predecessor, he understood that we were already at war….we just refused to acknowledge it. After 8 years of Iraq refusing to abide by the UN rules he agreed to…Bush was the only one willing to call it out and force the world to deal with it. And now, there are people in Iraq beginning a life without a tyranical dictator (hopefully that’ll last).

    I will always be grateful for his faith & his desire to do what’s right (and not cave to polls).

    Thanks for posting these Matthew!

Leave a Reply

