:)

I have to say that I think I’m learning to be a better traveler. There are days that I still have to fight being a grump about travel delays – but I’m trying to make the most of it these days. My flight has gone back and forth from a 5 hour delay to 3.5. We’re at 3.5 now and I’m pretty grateful I’m going to get out of here! No cots in the terminal for me.

It’s been a tough day, but I’m hanging in there. I made it to bed a little after 4 and back up at 6:30 to our self-set delivery day for our courses. We got 20 of 22 courses completed, but for the fact that 2 courses we thought where complete 36 hours ago had to be built again from the ground up (thus my late night), I’m feeling pretty good. those are the 2 courses that will be turned in on Monday morning. The team I’ve worked with has been awesome about sacrificing to see this project through. I’ll be the only one who stay on the project over the next few weeks to walk the customers through accepting the courses.

The customer called me into his office today to let me know that in all of the frustrations he’s having right now as we iron this contract out, he sent a note to my boss’s boss to let him know that I’ve been a ton of help and he’s extremely pleased with my work. One of my SMEs (subject matter experts provided by the customer to help design a course) asked me in a roundabout way if I would be interested in a job at the refinery. Heck no! NJ is not for us! (Prayer: Please Lord, don’t move us there just to spite me). A recommendation from a difficult customer will go a long way with my boss – I hope. Training can be a very tumultuous career. Turnover is high. Today was a good day, and I think we’re on the same page about moving forward. I’m running on 2 hours of sleep and a plane that’s nearly 4 hours late, but there’s still plenty to smile about – it’s all for the journey…

mjd

Leave a Reply

