The Value of the Rebuke

picture2.jpg
So I’m restarting my journey through the Bible today. I’m not sure how I’m going to approach it, but today is Genesis 1, Psalm 1, and Proverbs 1.

Proverbs 1:7 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.
Proverbs 1:23 If you turn at my reproof, behold, I will pour out my spirit to you; I will make my words known to you.
Proverbs 1:28 – 31 Then they will call upon me, but I will not answer; they will seek me diligently
but will not find me. Because they hated knowledge and did not choose the fear of the Lord, would have none of my counsel and despised all my reproof, they shall eat the fruit of their way, and have their fill of their own devices.

I struggle off and on with my ability to receive rebukes. That’s so stupid! Everyone knows I have problems. My hate for correction came out of two things: insecurity and pride. I learned that rebuke was to my profit. Almost every time I listened, I came out of it better – I learned – I grew. Why not be corrected if you can come out better – unless you’re trying to fool the whole world into believe that you’ve got it all together already. How do you know that you hate correction: you recognize it is your problem but you try to reason through your correction or you try to deflect the blame to someone else or compare your problems with someone else. It’s like when you apologize, and follow your apology with a “but.” It’s like it automatically become invalid.

Today, the times I refuse rebuke are most often the times that I think I’ve got it better figured out than my rebuker. That’s tough – especially when you’re in a leadership role and someone who serves “under” you corrects you. Who wants to get busted out by someone who’s supposed to be “lesser” than you? Oh yeah, only the ones who want to hear so they can do a better job of leading the followers. I try to live by this policy – eat the fish and spit out the bones (thanks, Bro. Bruce). Take as much of it in as you can – even if it’s completely off-base, don’t defend yourself. Let it go and pray though every piece and learn what you can from it.

Today’s readings are a great start to this journal – don’t defend yourself or reason through it, Matthew. Just shut up and take it all in.

Let the wise hear and increase in learning (Prov. 1:5)

mjd

Leave a Reply

