My Brother

cg14.jpg
My trip to NJ made it oh-so-convenient to make a drive down to Cape May to see my brother graduate from Coast Guard basic.

I’m the oldest of 4 – and each one of us extremely different from the others – but I must say, my brother and I have a lot of similarities – mostly the bad stuff. Typically opinionated, loud mouthed, matter of fact, and stubborn. Unfortunately, my brother also had to follow me through school, and I was an overachiever. Since he was in Jr. High he’s been complaining about living in my shadow and being judged based on who I was. If that were ever true – it’s not today.

I can’t tell you how proud I am of my brother. He looked sharp – he was a different man. He’s always been a “screw the man,” “do it my way” kind of person – and yesterday he was trying to make sure we followed the rules. He has made the decision to give up his way of life to serve our nation in time of war.

I bought Chel and myself USCG hoodies yesterday and I put mine on as soon as I got a chance and I probably told 5 or 6 people who could care less how proud I was of my brother. He’s signed away the next 6 years of his life. He has little control of where he’ll serve and where life will take him over the next six year. There are multitudes of 19 and 20 year olds who pilot million dollar boats, fight in the war on terror, fight in the war on drugs, protect our borders, perform search and rescues, and keep trade going for out nation.

I’m learning a lot about USCG. Though they don’t have an extremely active role in Iraqi Freedom (though that’s changing), they do have an extremely active role in protecting the nation from terrorism. As a matter of fact, the USCG isn’t part of the Dept of Defense, they’re a part of the Dept of Homeland Security. They train in many facets – a lot of cross-training. Nick learned how to fight fires, CPR, sailing 101 (or whatever they would call that), basic training and rescuing and all kinds of stuff.

I’ll tell you this as well – I was thankful yesterday for the USCG and the Dept of Homeland Security when they were investigating the bomb threat against the refinery I was working in yesterday morning, but that’s another story for another day.

The point is this – I trust my brother with my life – and you’re doing the same. He turned over his life for the next 6 years to our government for the sake of our protection. He’s making a sacrifice for us.

Thank you, Nick Daniel! I couldn’t be more proud of you for your hard work – you’re doing something I would never have the guts to do. NO MORE SHADOW! You’re casting your own shadow today! Semper Paratus

mjd

4 thoughts on “My Brother

Leave a Reply

