Cave Expedition and Go-Karts

Chelsea didn’t remember ever riding go-karts, so I took her. It’s usually too cold for the go-kart places to stay open, but it was 75 degrees yesterday, so it was plenty warm enough. I kicked her tail most of the race, but I let her win at the end :). We played some ski-ball and then grabbed lunch. We went back to SDC. There are some days that I’m not so sure I don’t want to move into the hills where life is so much slower. I love modern conveniences, but sometimes I’m not so sure that the simplicity of life in the hills is better – like I said last week, coming up here always makes me think a lot. Back to the surface for air…we’re having a great time.
pastry.jpg
I think I heard the nativity story at least 6 times over the course of my two days at SDC. They’re all about making sure people know why they celebrate Christmas. They even have a church service in a chapel on site on Sundays.

We took a tour of the Marble Cave, of course there is no marble, but we had a good time. If you’ve never had a chance to tour a cave, it’s an amazing thing. Marble Cave is not near as impressive as Blanchard Springs Caverns in Mtn. View, AR, but it’s still pretty cool. This is Chel pretending she’s a bat, trying to scare the children.
scaring-the-chidrens.jpg

We also took a train ride on an actual train and saw all of the lights from around the park (4M total).
train-ride.jpg
Today is our anniversary, so we’re hanging out at the condo today, we’re going to Branson Landings (gigantic outdoor mall) and having Landry’s Seafood for dinner tonight.

mjd

6 thoughts on “Cave Expedition and Go-Karts

  1. Randi Smith

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY YOU TWO….you guys are definatley 2 of my most favorite people EVER…..i’m so glad you’re having a great time…you deserve it…..i love the pix…i don’t get to “see” either of you enough….hope to catch you a bit during thanksgiving….much love and hugs R.

  2. Randi Smith

    P.S. i absolutely CANNOT believe that Chels has never ridden go-karts…..what about bumper cars???? she is so very deprived…lol…R

  3. drama girl

    Happy Anniversary to you both. I remember when Chelsea came down the aisle and you began to cheer and clap , it was the best wedding I’ve ever attended. love ya

  4. I have a weird tiered dream for where I want to live. It’s of course changed with Dave’s preferences. Now I find myself unable to wait until we can move into a Condo (preferably a high rise). Not sure if I want it to be down town or outside of town a bit. But I look forward to the sophisticated life it would have (and still cheaper than buying an actual lot house). I like that maintenance is going to be taken care of and no yard.

    However, I would like a lot and a house in a suburbia type place… I could hire some neighbor kid to mow the lawn… but while that’s the typical family dream, not quite ready for it yet.

    I also would love to live a little further from civilization. Somewhere in the Rockies. But it would need to have the modern anem… stuff we enjoy here. It would also be nice if I could build lots of houses for all our family and friends.

    We could create a little village… and call it…

    Little Village.

Leave a Reply

