You’ve Got to be Kidding Me

I was eating dinner tonight when the guy at the table next to me began to rant and rave (he was little red faced) about the solution to the problems in Africa…”let them die.” He began to suggest that everyone quit sending aid to Africa and just let all of those who can’t be supported by the food and water currently available, die.

Don’t get me wrong, in the past I’ve been one to be harsh about immigration and foreign aid, but recently the Lord has really convicted me about justice – what’s right and what’s wrong. I may not think it’s the best idea for our government to spend billions when it’s already trillions in the hole, I must say that there’s no justice in letting people die. I must thank our friend Darwin once again for spreading the infection of “survival of the fittest” into our culture from top to bottom.

How stupid! Just let them die! Chelsea and I have in the past (though we don’t right now) supported an organization that taught local villagers in Africa to establish wells with clean water.

While I’m listening to this man rant and rave, I read a story on my phone. Leona Helmsley left $12M to her dog and $3M to make sure her tomb is whitewashed yearly. I wonder how many wells could be dug with that money. I wonder if maybe we have our priorities out of line…

mjd

One thought on “You’ve Got to be Kidding Me

  1. Robin

    I read that same story Matthew and it really made me angry to know that there are thousand of people living on the streets, alot of them children that have nothing and some one dies and leaves 12 millon dollars to a dog!!! I am so blessed to have a heart for God and commpassion for people and I would not trade it for all the millons in the world.

Leave a Reply

