Challenging

Wow…I just finished listening to Bro. Bill’s message from this past Sunday night (at FC back in Arkansas) and did it ever challenge me…

Sometimes I wonder why God made things the way He did…be in the world but not of the world. Wouldn’t it just be easier to completely abstain from everything…then I know I’d always be in right standing with God. Sometimes it would make life so much easier to have a defined set of do’s and don’ts. I’ll be the first to tell you I believe in absolute truths, but there are some things that seem to hang somewhere between truth and nontruths. I guess the level of my prayer life has got to increase so I can better hear Him minute by minute in each and every situation. I’m sure that’s what he meant by calling us to “stay in step” with His Holy Spirit.

I bought far too often into the whole 21st century mindset that as long as God knows my motives were good, then everything’s okay. I hear far too many people say they screw up in areas but they know God knows their hearts. I think there are some people out there who are definitely right about that, but as a whole, we use that phrase to justify us acting in our own best interest rather than His. I should make every area of my life a pleasing thing to Him…

And so the challenge of the Christian life continues… 🙂

mjd

Leave a Reply

