I’m Ready to Train!

For those who don’t know, besides serving at UC, I work as a Trainer/Instructional Designer. That basically means that I do training for companies and write training courses for companies. I’m blessed to be able to work from home – but I’m reaching that point that I’m ready to train – not just right training. Unfortunately, there’s a lot better money in writing the training than there is in actually delivering the training – it seems especially so in the Nashville area. Writing the training means spending 8 hours a day at a computer staring at MS Word documents.

I just wasn’t made for this…watching light bulbs go off for people is a driving force for me – whether it’s within the walls of a church or in the corporate environment – I thrive on seeing people develop into something more. I’ve delivered technical training on Microsoft Office products and Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) detection equipment as well as soft skills training such as Diversity in the Workplace and Customer Service. I miss it soooo much! Writing training is related to it – but this morning, I’m having one of those moments where I’m absolutely tired of staring at documents hour after hour. I’ll have the opportunity to train again sometime, until then…

mjd

One thought on “I’m Ready to Train!

  1. Crissy

    you are a trainer and a good one at that…you may not do the actual training in your “work” right now…but you train people everyday…you always have…it’s who you are and what you do…don’t get discouraged when you look at your computer screen all day…your training has a greater purpose….i miss you guys a lot…

    love
    c

Leave a Reply

