Adoption

So one of the purposes of our blogs are to let you in a little to who we are, so in an attempt to do so, I thought I’d share a little more of my story with you guys…it’s a story of adoption.

My birth father (Steve) died of cancer when I was 6 years old and my younger brother was 2. A couple of months later, my mom met Kenny Daniel. Kenny had worked as a music director and later as a salesman as he went through a tough divorce. A short time later, Kenny met my mother, and a few short months later they were married. For the first couple of months they were married, I called Kenny, “Kenny.” As time went on, I called Kenny “dad’ sometimes. Eventually it was time to decide, would he be Kenny or dad. Less than a year into their marriage, Kenny became my dad. A year later I decided I wanted to be called Matthew Daniel. My younger brother made the same decision.

When I was in Jr. High, the school told me that I had to use my actual last name…and it was then that it was time to make it legal…I became Matthew Daniel. As a matter of fact, as a result of the decision, all of Steve’s family actually quit talking to us, and although it hurt like crazy, we still had a dad, and his parents were our grandparents, and his siblings were our aunts and uncles. We were ever bit a part of the family as his kids. Wow!

I had a chance to talk to a dad last week who had made the same decision with his “stepson.”

I can’t tell you how incredible it is to know that some guy didn’t get stuck with you, he chose you. He had every chance to walk away, run away, or even stick around and not become my dad – but he chose to do that. When I was a good kid, he chose me, and when I was a terrible kid, he chose me.

The Father chose you too. Isn’t that incredible?

One thought on “Adoption

  1. Ray LeGrand

    I have a similar experience and because of it, I feel like I have a greater understanding and appreciation of what God has done for me than many.

Leave a Reply

