Servanthood

Don’t you just hate it when you turn on the Lord brings conviction into your heart in no time? I turned on the radio in the car on the way back to the hotel (I’m in Chicago on business) and the speaker said, one of the qualities of leaders throughout the Bible is they wore servanthood – not like an action – and this is the killer. I expected him to say – but as a lifestyle. Oh no, that’s not what he said. He said they wore servanthood as an identity. Ouch!

Some may think, oh that’s just semantics, but really, those are two different things. People identify themselves by many things – I’m short, I’m fat, I’m tall, I’m old, I’m a musician, I’m an artist, I’m young…blah, blah, blah. I want to wear servanthood as an identity. It’s not just something for church, it’s something to wear at home, it’s something to wear at work.

Many times when people struggle with pride, they force themselves into a demeaning act to bring servanthood and humility into their lives. I understand the whole idea of “faking it till you make it,” but I want to find myself as a servant to all, no matter my mood, energy level, or personal agenda.

One thought on “Servanthood

Leave a Reply

