2nd Week Down

It’s been a good week so far. We reduced our setup time dramatically, and that’s with us still running into a few large snags. We got everything pumping, so we’re ready to go.

Our numbers were down to about 175, but it was kind of expected. Second week return meets a icy rain/sleet forcast means 175 was pretty good.

The worship went very well. There were a few wrong chords/notes here and there, but other than that, things were awesome. We had a new bass player this week and he did an awesome job. We also got some more help on Setup/Tear Down from Cross Point and FC. Everything is looking and sounding better and better as the weeks go by.

I spent Monday working, planning this weekend’s service with Pastor Joe, and meeting with musicians. Bill Renfrew has been such help to us that I can’t even describe it! He, Chelsea, and I had a wonderful and productive talk. We had at least 1 salvation this weekend, so we’re really starting to get into the good stuff – seeing lives change!!!! Woohooo!

We watched the new Heroes last night and caught up on laundry and CSI. I packed my stuff for Chicago and flew out this morning. I got up this morning at 5:15, and I’m having a hard time keeping my eyes open. I hate not having Chel here with me! I guess I’m going to go grab a bite of dinner, check into the doubletree, have my doubletree cookie and go to sleep. I’m absolutley exhaughsted!

I’m trying something new this weekend. Most of you know how I feel about doing “secular” music at weekend services, but Pastor is speaking on “knowing” God this weekend, and I’m going to sing the U2 song “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For.” I don’t know if you’ve read these lyrics, but they’re flippin’ awesome:

I have climbed highest mountains
I have run through the fields
Only to be with you
Only to be with you
I have run
I have crawled
I have scaled these city walls
These city walls
Only to be with you

But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for

I have kissed hardened lips
Felt the healing fingertips
It burned like fire
This burning desire

I have spoke with the tongue of angels
I have held the hand of a devil
It was warm in the night
I was cold as a stone

But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for

I believe in the kingdom come
Then all the colors will bleed into one
Bleed into one
Well, yes I’m still running

You broke the bonds
And you loosed the chains
Carried the cross
Of my shame
Of my shame
You know I believed it

But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for

They have a few songs that are about the Lord and this is one of them. Harmony’s been trying to tell me that for years but I could never see it. Well, here it is. If you think about it, check on my love this week – she’s all alone!

mjd

Leave a Reply

