Eyes on the Prize


Well, it’s been a tough week. Things for UC have been progressing really well. We have a few details that still need to be worked out, but almost everything is going well. We have our curtains, we have our lights, we have our sound. Unfortunately, it’s also been a tough week in some other areas. There’s no reason to put my business on here for the world to read, but this week we were hurt by people extremely close to us. It seems as though the enemy has brought this along at this time to distract us, but the news is on him.

The light is exposing the darkness, and in the midst of attack, our eyes are becoming narrowed and our minds focused. The truth will ultimately win. Our hearts must be devoted to the new work that the Lord has sent us here for.

For years, I have been trained and taught – every trial and victory, every hurt and hope, have all led to this time and to this place. Of course, every moment of our lives have been ordained by God and are all given to us with the purpose of growing us. But something about this situation makes me believe that this is a special moment. So much teaching…so much growing…so many challenges…and all to see UC reach Nashville in a dynamic way.

So on this day, I must repeat the words of Paul:
Phil. 3:12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

5 thoughts on “Eyes on the Prize

  1. Ray Smith

    AMEN!!! Brother, sometimes in life you will have to take a look at the source(s) and determine if you really respect the opinion(s) of people you have heretofore respected, due to whatever or wherever they may be in their respective walk with the “LORD AT THIS MOMENT IN TIME”. I have found that as I get older,people show their truest selfs,when there is absolutely nothing that they can gain from me, therefore there is no need to pretend to be something or someone they are not.Be cautious with those who seem to be “SAFE” and on your side.Even Satan disguises himself as THE ANGEL OF LIGHT!!Allow the HOLY SPIRIT to show you who people really are and what their motivations are, even when you don`t want to know,sometimes.I love you and am lifting you up continuously.Be Strong and determine in your heart that “YOU HAVE BEEN CALLED,FOR SUCH A TIME AS THIS!” Ray

  2. tommyslittledebbie

    What God leads you to, He sees you through! Waiting anxiously to read the great news about your first service. We have been and will be praying for you.

  3. Leann

    How awesome is our God?! What inspiration I have received in reading what God is doing and how He is touching you. You know, we just don’t get that much time to talk about this when we’re going our GP stuff, so I am thankful I can go here and catch up. I now know that the scripture I text you Sunday was from God. You are annointed with praise and worship in a way that it exudes from you and the pulpit into the congregation. You always have had this, but I know that this experience is allowing you to finally walk in your very own calling. God prepared you each step of the way and I believe your leading worship in E-Love was the final preparation because you were able to be Matthew J. Daniel, worshipper, leader, psalmist, follower and showed us how to be lovers of Christ! Love and miss you and Chel so much it hurts! Look at what Ray wrote at the end of his blog…isn’t it ironic that I texted you that?! This is yours and Chel’s calling, brother! Grab ahold of it and don’t look back or let go. Leann

  4. Leann

    How awesome is our God?! What inspiration I have received in reading what God is doing and how He is touching you. You know, we just don’t get that much time to talk about this when we’re going our GP stuff, so I am thankful I can go here and catch up. I now know that the scripture I text you Sunday was from God. You are annointed with praise and worship in a way that it exudes from you and the pulpit into the congregation. You always have had this, but I know that this experience is allowing you to finally walk in your very own calling. God prepared you each step of the way and I believe your leading worship in E-Love was the final preparation because you were able to be Matthew J. Daniel, worshipper, leader, psalmist, follower and showed us how to be lovers of Christ! Love and miss you and Chel so much it hurts! Look at what Ray wrote at the end of his blog…isn’t it ironic that I texted you that?! This is yours and Chel’s calling, brother! Grab ahold of it and don’t look back or let go. Leann

Leave a Reply

